top of page
Search
  • reeseaddisonmax

Thoughts: YouTube Video How Social Media Shapes Identity

The video listed “How Social Media Shapes Identity” created by Ulrike Schultze explains how people and the internet interact with each other. Ulrike starts us off by explaining Facebook’s (and even other social media platforms) algorithm works. She informs us that we as humans have been using technology and even social media for ages. Back to when we were cavemen. As well as how people create profiles and how they wish to be perceived online. Ulrike goes onto saying how there are three Dominant discourses in our Second Life (Social Media Accounts). Those being Market, Play, and Sociality. The market is working off the economy with Consumers and Producers. Play is your “separate life,” exploring different identifies. And finally, we have Sociality which is basically that your identity is based on the roles you play and who you’re associated with. These discourses can intertwine and contradict each other. And overall are what create what we know as social media.

Now has social media influenced me? Most definitely. Especially trends. The algorithm, my feed, gives me is usually something that I’m already interested in or could be interested in. This will peak my interests and my curiosity. Making me try some of the things on my feed or listen to what it has to say. An example of this could be that last year at the beginning of quarantine there was this trend where people made whipped coffee. Since I’m a big fan of culinary it piqued my interest and I tried it. That’s just one of the ways. Another one is my fashion style, there were a lot of people on my fyp (for you page) that had the same style as me and I wanted to get some. So I did. My final example would be content creators, I’d see them once again on my fyp, get curious and check them out. Some content creators that I now follow because of this are Dream, Ranboo, Corpse Husband, Tubbo, Tommyinnit, etc.

Do I agree with what the video said? Absolutely. Why? Easy because it’s true. I’m an example of social media influencing me. My friends are examples of this too. Everyone is. Everything Ulrike had stated in that video is true, so I have no choice to but agree.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Case Study 2: Media Institutions Chapter 6

144-161 Summary There’s little doubt that media text affects audiences; however how it happens and what that effect is, does create doubt. On one-hand you have emotions and on the other you have socia

Case Study 1: YouTube Ch 5

Diversity and Cultural Citizenship Youtube is a commercial enterprise, but it’s also a platform designed to enable cultural participation. Participatory culture is Youtube’s core business, it’s a grea

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page